Hunting and Fishing Licenses
The Town Clerk no longer issues Hunting and Fishing Licenses for the state of Massachusetts. These can be obtained by visiting the Massachusetts Division of Fisheries & Wildlife website.
SECTION 600 DISCHARGING OF FIREARMS (Amended, ATM, 04/30/88, Art. 20), (Amended, ATM, 06/12/93, Art. 22),
(Amended, ATM, 5/7/01, Art. 21)
No person shall discharge a firearm on any land owned by the Town. Hunting of deer by means of archery, during seasons allowed by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Division of Fisheries and Wildlife, is permitted on Town-owned land designated suitable by the Wilbraham Conservation Commission. Hunters may obtain permission from the Wilbraham Conservation Commission, acting as the agent for Town-owned land, on forms provided for this purpose by the Town Clerk.
No person shall hunt or discharge a firearm on any private property in the Town, other than said person's parent's, children's, grandchildren's or their respective spouse's, own property, without written permission of the owner of the land upon which hunting will take place. Permission forms shall be obtained from the Wilbraham Town Clerk's Office. The distribution of the permission form prior to hunting shall be as follows:
The Town Clerk shall receive and stamp all copies, one of which shall be retained by the Town Clerk, another shall be forwarded to the Police Department by the Town Clerk, and the original copy must be retained by the hunter and must be carried while hunting and be renewed on an annual basis.
Each offender shall receive a written notice to appear before the Town Clerk at any time during office hours, not later than twenty-one days after the date of such notice. Fine for first offense shall be one hundred dollars ($100). Second time offenders shall be fined a minimum of one hundred dollars ($100) up to three hundred dollars ($300). This By-Law shall be enforced by all State and local law enforcement officials and shall be administered under the provisions of Mass. Gen. Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D on non-criminal dispositions and any Town By-Law implementing said statute, provided, however, that this By-Law shall not apply to the lawful defense of life or property, or to any discharge of firearms in accordance with law enforcement.